About Justitia

Justitia is an Incorporated Society with a proud history of providing risk management and Professional Indemnity Insurance solutions to legal practitioners since 1985.  In partnership with Aon, the world’s leading insurance broker, Justitia provides quality Professional Indemnity and associated Liability group product and risk management advice to New Zealand legal professionals.

Justitia is owned and run by lawyers for lawyers.  It is not an insurance company.

Founded by legal practitioners for the benefit of legal practitioners – the Board of Management adopts the principals and philosophies of a voluntary co-operative group.

  • Made up of over 250 members.
  • Membership is open to all Legal Practitioners in New Zealand.
  • Membership of Justitia is free but requires completion of an application form.

Professional Advice from Industry Experts

Aon New Zealand provides professional and knowledgeable insurance advice and services to Justitia members.  The Professional Indemnity and Companion Liability insurance policies are handled by a team of liability insurance specialists.

The Aon Team

Aon calling hours are 8:30AM - 5PM Monday to Friday
Profile Image

Elizabeth Ngan

Broker Manager
Aon Wellington
Profile Image

Katische Remnant

Account Manager
Aon Wellington
Profile Image

Gaynor Roberts

Claims Manager
Aon Wellington

Insurance from market leaders

The Professional Indemnity and Companion Liability policies are arranged with reputable insurers who have stood the test of time in the New Zealand insurance market. Whilst some insurers have entered and exited the insurance market for legal practitioners, NZI and AIG have continued to support the profession, providing extensive insurance protection to Justitia members.

Justitia Board of Management

The Board of Directors of Justitia are all Legal Practitioners, geographically spread throughout New Zealand to bring a diversity of perspective to the leadership.

The Board elects the Chairperson and appoints the secretary, insurance consultants and auditors. All insured members of the Incorporated Society are invited to an Annual General Meeting.

Meet our current board members:
Profile Image

John Morrison

Chairperson
Wellington
Barrister
john-morrison@xtra.co.nz
Profile Image

Pat Sheehan

Secretary
Lower Hutt
Accountant
022 458 9983
pat@kendons.co.nz
Profile Image

Duncan McGill

Partner
Auckland
022 458 9983
d.mcgill@duncancotterill.com
Profile Image

Rick Palmer

Partner
Kerikeri
rick@pmlaw.co.nz
Profile Image

John Bierre

Partner
Auckland
jbierre@morgancoakle.co.nz
Profile Image

Bruce Stewart

Partner
Palmerston North
b.stewart@loughnans.co.nz
Profile Image

John Walker

Partner
Wanaka
john.walker@gcalegal.co.nz
Profile Image

Jon Olphert

Consultant
Rotorua
jfolphert@xtra.co.nz
Profile Image

Miriam Radich

Partner
Blenheim
miriam@radichlaw.co.nz
Profile Image

Lincoln Reid

Partner
Napier
lbr@slw.co.nz
Profile Image

Caroline Laband

Partner
Auckland
caroline.laband@dlapiper.com
Profile Image

Bruce Fraser

Partner
Nelson
bfraser@fvm.co.nz